York Racecourse is looking forward to potentially the most international field ever for the aptly named Group One Juddmonte International.

The prestigious race had its prize money boosted to a record £1,250,000 for the 2024 renewal, with that commitment by the York Race Committee and long-term sponsors, Juddmonte, has been rewarded with a record number of overseas entries.
The longest traveller would be Durezza, the Japanese St Leger victor, who is owned by the enthusiastic Carrot Farm Co syndicate. Trained by Tomohito Ozeki, the stable has taken horses to win in Hong Kong, however this would be a first European foray for the team. The colt will be hoping to finish one better than Zenno Rob Roy, who made the 25,000-mile round trip to finish second in this race, nearly twenty years ago.
Continental Europe could have a strong hand on Wednesday 21 August, as no less than five entries have been made by operations in France and Germany. The Gallic quartet are Zarakem, Horizon Dore, Calandagan and Zarir. Best known to UK racing fans will be Zarakem and Horizon Dore who both put in strong performances to finish second and third in the G1 Prince of Wales’s Stakes at Royal Ascot. Marseille based trainer Jerome Reynier sends Zarakem in a tilt at a race that French handlers have not claimed since the 1987 triumph of Triptych for Patrick Biancone. Completing the French raid are the Francis-Henri Grafford duo of Zarir, a progressive type, already thrice placed in pattern company for in the famous silks of HH The Aga Khan and Calandagan who won the G2 King Edward VII Stakes last time out.
The Munich base of Sarah Steinberg has entered its first contender in Fantastic Moon, the German Derby winner would be making his British debut.
Officially ranked in the Top Ten of the Longines World’s Best Races, the Juddmonte International is a regular target for Irish connections.The first staging back in 1972 was won by Roberto trained by Dr. Vincent O’Brien, one of nine previous champions for the Emerald Isle. This year there are 11 Irish contenders, headlined by City of Troy who was most impressive when winning the Betfred Derby for Coolmore and Aidan O’Brien. Having already won the title on six previous occasions, the Ballydoyle representatives currently number ten, also featuring Auguste Rodin and Continuous (successful in the G2 Sky Bet Great Voltigeur last season). The other Irish entry comes from John Joseph Murphy with Group One winner, White Birch.
British trained eye-catchers entered in the race include Economics, who was a convincing winner over course and distance in the Al Basti Equiworld Dubai Dante Stakes for William Haggas. A fascinating clash of the generations is often the tale of the Juddmonte International with Jayarebe a Royal Ascot winner for Brian Meehan, being another with the potential to fly the flag for the classic crop.
A sole entry for Yorkshire is the Karl Burke trained, Royal Rhyme, the recent G3 Brigadier Gerard winner.
A total of 37 horses have entered for the Juddmonte International, being seven up from last year.
Group One Coolmore Wootton Bassett Nunthorpe Stakes
The international feel of the Sky Bet Ebor Festival is further in evidence in the entries for the Group One Coolmore Wootton Bassett Nunthorpe Stakes, the fastest race of the four days. The break-out sprinting star of Royal Ascot, Asfoora, will hope to give Australia a further top-flight victory after winning the G1 King Charles III Stakes. Travelling from Ballarat in Victoria via a Newmarket summer lodging, Henry Dwyer will be keen to record a first Knavesmire winner. Australian pedigree in the race notably includes Ortensia, the 2012 victor.
Continental Europe could see a first Czech trained contender for the five-furlong contest, as Ponntos has been entered by Miroslav Nieslanik. Currently enjoying a three-race winning streak in Group company, the six-year-old clearly has a fine turn of foot.
The five Irish entries include River Tiber and Aesop’s Fables for Aidan O’Brien, with Valiant Force and Bucanero Fuerte part of a two-handed entry from Adrian Murray.
Previous champions have a good record in this speed test, with four two-time winners this century (Borderlescott, Sole Power, Mecca’s Angel and Battaash) so connections of Live In The Dream will be hoping for more jubilant scenes as he looks to defend the title.
It is also a sprint that brings success to local trainers, both Tim Easterby and the Quinns having taken the now £500,000 purse in recent years. Art Power, Azure Blue, Regional and Washington Heights are the four northern based entrants.
A total of 30 horses have entered for the Coolmore Nunthorpe Stakes.
Group One Pertemps Network Yorkshire Oaks
The £500,000 prize for the feature race for fillies and mares headed over the channel in 2012 when Shareta scored for Alain de Roger-Dupre, this time it could fall to Melo Melo in the silks of Wathnan Racing to represent France, a further potential runner for Francis-Henri Grafford. Irishman abroad, Gavin Hernon, has entered Dare to Dream to complete the French challenge.
Warm Heart made it three wins in four years for Coolmore and Aidan O’Brien in 2023, leading the Ballydoyle line this year could be Port Fairy fresh from her victory in the G2 Ribblesdale Stakes. She is one of a dozen entrants from Ireland, that also include representatives from Wilie Mullins, Jessica Harrington, Joseph O’Brien, Johnny Murtagh and Dermot Weld. Indeed, Ezeliya may bid to emulate Snowfall as an Irish runner that adds the Yorkshire version to her Epsom Oaks win, this time for Dermot Weld.
Bluestocking who looked impressive when winning the Group 2 Al Basti Equiworld Dubai Middleton Stakes at the Dante Festival for Ralph Beckett features amongst a British cohort. That strong domestic challenge may well feature Lava Stream, trained locally for David O’Meara, fresh from her second placed finish in the G2 Ribblesdale Stakes. Darnation for Karl Burke and Francophone for Charlie Johnston complete the three Yorkshire entrants.
A total of 33 horses have entered for the Pertemps Network Yorkshire Oaks an increase of one on 2023.
The three-race total number of entries being a round 100, is a single contender ahead of last year.
Click here for the full list of entries.